Helpforsure

Microsoft Windows Experts

An authentication error has occurred. The specified target is unknown or unreachable. NLA Error, XP SP3 January 23, 2011

Filed under: Remote Desktop Services — helpforsure @ 11:19 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This is really annoying and it took me a little while to find the fix, so I am blogging about this in hopes that others waste less time!

I have a 2008 R2 RD Session Host server farm. IT is set to accept only connections from NLA clients. Connecting from any Win7 machine works great.

Then I tried to connect via a client running XP SP3, running RDC 6.1 (supports NLA) with CredSSP enabled.  I got the following error: An authentication error has occurred. The specified target is unknown or unreachable.

 

If I turn off requiring NLA on the farm servers, I can connect.

Next, I added RDC 7.0 and tried again. I get the same error.

I tried from more XP clients, with the same setup and I get some that get in and some that give the error.  VERY CONFUSING.

Turns out,  there is a hotfix out there that fixes this:

I added: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/953760, and rebooted.

Now it works.

What I find interesting is that the hotfix does not specifically lay out this exact error result.ARGH.If it had I would have found it SO much faster.

Note: WebSSO will still not work unless you have RDC 7.0 on your XP client – RDC 7.0 is a requirement for WebSSO.

 

2 Responses to “An authentication error has occurred. The specified target is unknown or unreachable. NLA Error, XP SP3”

  1. Alvaro Says:

    Thanks, this solved my issue.

  2. Paul Says:

    Thanks, solved mine to


Leave a Reply

